Home | Event Coverage | Bloomquist Tops COMP Cams Topless 100 a Record Fifth Time

Bloomquist Tops COMP Cams Topless 100 a Record Fifth Time

Scott Bloomquist won the COMP Cams Topless 100 for a record fifth time.

Scott Bloomquist won the COMP Cams Topless 100 for a record fifth time.

Scott Bloomquist became the first five-time winner of the COMP Cams Topless 100- Presented by Crop Production Services on Aug. 20, 2017, at Batesville Motor Speedway in Arkansas.

Bloomquist inherited the lead on lap 66 when race leader Austin Rettig had to pit for a flat tire. He then led the remaining 34 laps unchallenged to score the $40,000 victory in the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series and COMP Cams Super Dirt Series-sanctioned event. Tim McCreadie had led the first 63 laps.

“The car was awesome,” said Bloomquist, who started the race in the 23rd position out of 41. “Once we moved outside, I got by a bunch of cars. I had to take it easy on the tires. We were looking for somewhere around lap 40 to pit, and it worked out for us.”

“I just kept watching those lead cars,” he continued. “They were starting to have trouble around lap-60. I knew we had enough for them at the end. I just had to keep the car straight and smooth. The Andy Durham Racing Engine ran great. I can’t thank everyone enough, especially all my help, the sponsors, and all the fans. I followed the 94 car [Rettig] through there, but he was burning the tires up. I would sweep wide on the straight-aways and go low in the corners. That was the fastest groove. I wasn’t worried about being passed at the end. I was just worried about tire wear to finish the race. I didn’t push it nearly as much as I could have there at the end.”

Satterlee took the second spot after having to survive a pit stop as well.

“We had a really good car,” Satterlee said. “To get a Top 5 here, we are happy with that. We have been struggling lately, but made some good decisions on the car. We were tight after hot laps, and we wanted the car to drive as freely as possible, to save the tires. I could make the middle of the race track work, and we got all the way to second, but Scott was good. I thought I could roll him on the outside. There was a fine line out there. Congrats to him [Bloomquist] on the win. The Rocket Chassis was really good today and the Andy Durham Racing Engine ran flawless.”

Dennis Erb Jr. surged into the top three when several of the front runners began having tire issues.

“We had a good car today,” Erb said. “A lot of guys had troubles today. We had planned to pit there sometime early if there was a caution the way the track looked. We needed to have some fresh tires to get to the second half of the race.”

Completing the Top 10 were Darrell Lanigan, Austin Rettig, Josh Richards, Steve Francis and Jared Landers.

Going into the weekend, Bloomquist was tied with Billy Moyer at four career Topless 100 wins. He currently is third in the Lucas Oil Championship Point Standings, behind Josh Richards in first and Tim McCreadie in second.