Welcome to CPGNation.com! Log in or Sign up to interact with the CPGNation community.

Why so many remote tunes all of a sudden?

Discussion in 'FAST Support Forum' started by Fastmanefi, Jun 23, 2018.

  1. Fastmanefi

    Fastmanefi Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Location:
    Sonora, CA
    I have been doing remote tunes for years, but for some reason the quantity has all of a sudden tripled. For the last 2 months or so, I have been doing at least one remote tune per day. Sportsmans or XFIs only (there's nothing I can do for an EZ system). If it was easier to do on this forum I'd show you some really cool cars. Anyway, the general feeling I'm getting is that there are a lot of frustrated people out there that need some training that want to get their cars running better.

    A remote session is where I dial into your laptop and tune your engine in real time while we talk on the phone. It takes several hours. The resulting tune is important but people tell me that the training they get is even more beneficial.

    Anyway, if this could help you, give me a call.
     
  2. A A

    A A Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2014
    Sounds like business is good Richard. :) Yes, many could probably benefit from the FAST classes - and that could make your tuning sessions go easier. Best wishes my friend. I still visit your website now and then to see some of the rides you work on http://www.fastmanefi.com/photos.

     
  3. crash520

    crash520 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2016
    As soon as I get back in Aussie land and settled I’ll be booking an online service from Rich
     
  4. 9secondz28

    9secondz28 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Location:
    psl/florida
    I can tell you why lol I’m in Florida and a big city with a lot of built cars and either tuner here will only tune hp tuner and newer cars with knock sensors! And others don’t even know what fast xfi is and it’s becoming an issue for me because I’m high hp turbocharged drag only and I can’t get a tuner to look over my own tuneamd clean it up or maximize my setup so I’m left with myself or maybe a remote tuner that actually knows fast lol.
     
  5. Fastmanefi

    Fastmanefi Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Location:
    Sonora, CA
    I could see the trend coming when I was asked to remote tune a twin turbo 2000 HP "STREET CAR". Its almost too easy to make big power these days.
     
  6. 9secondz28

    9secondz28 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Location:
    psl/florida
    Fastmanefi Could I send you my own e85 tune? I don’t want anything for free but if you could see how it looks I worry most under boost with timing and fuel I also want to up the boost and I’m alittle nervous lol I’m a weekend racer more for fun so this is all I have lol

     
  7. Fastmanefi

    Fastmanefi Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Location:
    Sonora, CA
    Sure. email me the tune and a WOT data log if you have one.
     
  8. 9secondz28

    9secondz28 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Location:
    psl/florida
    Thanks Richard I emailed you my tune file and I do have a few rough wot logs but not on me at home I have a day job under the Florida sun so I can’t get those for you lol thanks again sir



     
  9. Fastmanefi

    Fastmanefi Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Location:
    Sonora, CA
    I have been getting more phone calls from people that need a tune or some tuning help for their XFI or Sportsman system and they didn't know that I was around or how it works.
    Remote Tuning:
    This is where I connect to your laptop via the Internet and tune your engine as if I were sitting next to you. You watch me tune on your laptop while we talk on the phone. This has been very successful because you get some serious training at the same time. You need high speed Internet at the car (or a good hot spot from your phone) and a piece of free software called Team Viewer (teamviewer.com). rich@fastmanefi.com
     
  10. Blown7

    Blown7 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    I must say without Rich's help (Fastman) I would still be scratching my head.I have a 6.1 Gen III Hemi out of a 2007 Jeep SRT that I rebuild with a Whipple 2.9L screw blower kit in a 1977 Jeep CJ7.
    I originally had a AMC 401 with a 6-71 blower with the Craig Ralsbeck BDS Bird catcher 16 injector hat and Classic FAST. I removed that because it was my daily driver and I got tired putting a garbage bag over the blower assembly whenever it rained. I wanted everything under the hood. That I fine tuned myself as Craig had a base tune to start with, even then I had him on speed dial.

    I worked with Fastnanefi over two hours last night remotely and he showed me things I would be searching for and trying to understand the user interface for years. FAST does some really strange things and has some quirky modifier tables and if your not proficient it will screw up the tune. I had already spent a lot of time scaling the factory Mopar sensors (coolant, MAP, IAT) and doing the injector calculations .FAST doesn't have the latest Hellcat or Turbo Neon tables. My VE tables were funky but not great, and I had quite a few options and tables pooched. Trying to build a tune from the provided FAST files is hard. FAST never gives you a great base tune to start with, and the way Rich explained it the old Classic FAST tunes provided get inverted reading into the XFI, so the tables are reversed, I would have never known it.
    I would be spending years just trying to understand the Fast throttle body needs to be open some in idle because the IAC will not allow enough air by itself with the blade fully closed. It's worth the cost ..simple. And BTW the guy is good! Now to find out why my wide-band O2 doesn't work.......

    So unless you do tuning everyday hire the guy....... Best investment there is!
     
  11. Blown7

    Blown7 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Well a trip to NAPA per Richs advice and a new O2 sensor is mine, the new from FAST sensor seems to fail out of the gate. So I installed it and checking the O2 with propane and the numbers move. Now to wait......until the next remote hookup.
     
  12. Fastmanefi

    Fastmanefi Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Location:
    Sonora, CA
    That is called progress (as painful as it is sometimes) ...LOL
     
  13. Blown7

    Blown7 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Yea .......but now I don't know what I did or didn't do,, I got the O2 working but now the fuel injectors won't fire. I've been running thru the wiring .. I've got 12V+ at the injectors but the ground side at the XFI isn't firing, I'm not sure whats happening. I have a Can Status light " on" so the Can bus is working between the XIM and XFI.
    And I checked I have ground entering from the battery at connector D1at the XFI but no joy on seeing the LED's light up for injectors A-H. All the lights momentarily light up and go out quickly when I turn key on..... but they are all dead at cranking. No fuel at all. The engine will run on starting fluid... so I got spark...just no injectors powering up. Can a "Master" driver chip be fried in the XFI that powers up the individual coil drivers????? And is there any way to test??
     
  14. Fastmanefi

    Fastmanefi Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Location:
    Sonora, CA
    Check that you have power while cranking. Can you see RPM on the dashboard when cranking? Check the fuse in the harness. When you figure that out, you have to call me so we can finish the tune.
     
  15. Blown7

    Blown7 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Power to what?

    I have XIM RPM in the dashboard showing mostly around 150 RPM while cranking, but the XFI dashboard RPM box stays a big Red 0.

    I've ripped the whole harness apart, checked and verified every reasonable wire run..... connector to connector ......harness to engine and harness to ECU's..... checked every fuse and relay. I thought the crank sensor wire got too hot near the header.. Nope signals good. Verified that ground was continuous and good (less than 2 ohms) from BAT (-) to the connector D A1 input on the XFI. So I know ground for the injectors is making it into the XFI box.

    I'll check the Can Bus data with my Saleae Logic Analyzer tonight ..https://www.adafruit.com/product/378

    I don't know the RPM PID on the can bus from the XIM to the XFI....but I know a bit about Can Bus stuff.. maybe the data isn't getting from the XIM to the XFI thats the only thing I can think of right now.

    FAST is OK with the wiring schematics,,,,,,,,, but I also am a Avionics Technician and would like to have the data bus info and the internal description of the ECU's would be a god send.

    To me bottom line is the XFI box is not getting any RPM data from the XFI via the Can Bus......or the XFI isn't driving the algorithm and activating the drivers for the injector grounds.
     
  16. Fastmanefi

    Fastmanefi Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Location:
    Sonora, CA
    With no RPM on the XFI the injectors will not fire. Scope the crank signal that goes from the XIM to the XFI. It's just one pulse per rev.
     
  17. Turbobitt

    Turbobitt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    I'm not sure if the XIM sends RPM data through the cam bus. I would assume that its just receives timing commands from the XFI, but I don't know that for sure. The XIM manages the cam and crank signals and sends its own generated cam and crank signal from the 30 pin XIM connector directly to the XFI's discrete cam and crank signal inputs. I would look there first and make sure they are not wired to the inductive inputs by mistake.
    AG.
     
  18. Blown7

    Blown7 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    So after chatting with Mr Rich this AM.. and doing some troubleshooting this PM this is what I find.
    Rich mentioned that the crank signal is connected to the XFI in the XIM harness. ..........I have pretty much stripped out every wire firewall back ( my XFI and XIM boxes are mounted in the center console between the seats) and I cannot find a common connection to XIM connector 1 pin1 and XFI connector A pin1 (both are crank signals)

    The GM does have a crank connector common to the XFI and XIM per the wiring diagram ...but the Hemi does not...Rich had mentioned a crank connector common to both XFI and XIM.... but maybe only the GM wiring has it. (It is well documented in the GM wiring schematic).

    So I unless I strip the complete harness thru the firewall to the crank sensor I cannot find common wiring to both Pin 1.2,3 XFI/XIM crank sensor wiring.. (It's not to say it isn't buried in the harness but i can't find it) both the XFI and XIM have crank sensors on Pin 1-3 of connector 1.

    The Hemi crank sensor wiring in the XIM Pin 1-3 are all Black (great way to track )lol

    The number 1 connector for the crank sensor on the 30pin connector on the XIM is populated, as are the Pins 1-3 on the XFI connector 32 pin connector....... but on the XFI there is a color difference.

    So bottom line.. both boxes are back in the shipping cartons for next day to Mr. FAST down in Memphis.

    Maybe my welding on the O2 sensor did fry something internal....who knows..but at least if they check out.. I can have fun unwrapping miles of harness...........................
     
  19. Fastmanefi

    Fastmanefi Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Location:
    Sonora, CA
    The XIM outputs both the cam and crank signals to the XFI via the Cam/Hall Effect plug. Since the XIM is seeing RPM the break must be between the XIM and the XFI in the cam hall effect cable. That's all I was trying to say.
     
  20. Blown7

    Blown7 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Very well could be, I called FAST for a RMA this AM and the gentleman said the Cam signal does pass thru the Can Bus if the setting is sequential fire. I never tried bank fire to see if that would work. Oh well one way or the other we will get a OK from FAST or a repair. At least then I know it's a sensor, pin or harness issue.
     

Share This Page